Exercise Pen!

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 4.38.27 PM

I’ve made significant progress on my New Year’s resolution to exercise every day. I’ve already bought a treadmill and located it strategically in front of the television. (I got a fancy one with all kinds of options. It even has a built-in heart-rate monitor.) After hours of research, I found a great training program with specific daily goals. I’ve bought some really nice shoes with good support for my arches. I’ve even purchased some great exercise clothes that wick away the sweat I will produce when I begin to exercise. I’ve talked to friends about which shows I might enjoy watching via NetFlicks while I’m walking on my brand new treadmill.

But today, I took an amazing step toward actualizing my goal. I purchased a calendar with large spaces on each day of the month. This calendar provides plenty of room for me to record my daily exercise tallies. And now I only lack one thing… I need to start exercising. But somehow, I just can’t get inspired to turn the treadmill on and start walking.

Ah! I know what I need! I need one last thing to motivate myself. If I have this, I’m certain I will be on that treadmill every day, without fail, racking up the miles. Yes, if I’m going to record my daily feats on the exercise calendar, I will need a special exercise pen!

I must get on this task at once. Goodbye for now. I’m off to spend a few hours online researching exercise pens.

14 thoughts on “Exercise Pen!

  1. In addition to your exercise calendar and exercise pen, you will need an exercise log. I don’t know if you prefer a pen-and-paper one, or an electronic one. But why not work on it as you’re walking on the treadmill?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wrote a post about beginning an exercise program the easy way and the main thing is making an exercise goal (at the beginning) that sounds so easy you actually do feel lame for not doing it everyday. Pick a low number like 10-15 mins and that is all the exercise you have to do. 15 mins on the treadmill and you have MET your exercise goal for the day. DONE. Honestly what happens to most people who follow this plan end up doing more time over the whole month than people who start out with lofty 30-60 3-4x per week goals….why??? Because it is so easy and you have no guilt over missed workouts. It works.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I truly believe that 90% of the fun in exercising is the preparation. I’ve got my own treadmill “almost” in perfect condition. TV (42″) is set to a nature program. Music of favorite my favorite groups. Great shoes. Neat clothes. I feel there is one thing lacking and haven’t been able to put my finger on it. I’m sure when I figure that aspect out, I’ll be able to start exercising properly. I’ve even got a companion stationary bicycle to use, too. My wife says I would benefit more if I actually used the treadmill and cycle, but I want the experience to be ‘perfect’ when I start – so I wait. You and I know what we want… Hmm, a calendar and pen? Could that be the final item? So close…

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yes, Onisha and Bob, I totally agree. I need a stationary bike. There are probably a few other things I NEED before I start exercising. LOL

    Like

  5. Now if you just commit to walk to the store to buy all those things and carry them home, you’ll get enough exercise to skip the treadmill. And I was wondering, if I buy one of those exercise pens, will it help rack up words toward my daily writing goal?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

